TenagaSurya

Solar Cell Super Sale – partsonsale.com – Only $14.95 Each

Posted in Solar Panel by TenagaSurya on July 11, 2009
asSalaamu’alaykum.

http://www.partsonsale.com/solarcells.html
SPACE SOLAR CELLS
Students, Teachers, Hobbyists
Build your own very high efficiency solar modules !



Solar Cell Super Sale – partsonsale.com – Only $14.95 Each
Limited Quantities
On Sale Now !
Only $14.95 Each

These are new high efficiency monocrystalline nitride passivated satellite grade solar cells that were purchased at auction from Tecstar Inc., a Southern California based manufacturer of solar cells for use in space based technology such as satellites and the international space station. 

These high quality cells are made from high efficiency monocrystalline silicon that have been treated with silicon nitride to boost efficiency. They are round in shape and are approximately 3.0 inches in diameter. They have a short circuit rating of approximately 1.54 amps with and open collector voltage of .58 volts @ 1000 w/m2, 25°C. 

What makes these cells unique are their extreme high efficiency. We tested one of these cells with a DC motor driving a propeller and was able to power the motor from the light of a two cell flashlight, which makes them perfect for low light applications !

We contacted a respected solar cell supplier and was told that these cells would normally sell to the space industry for $100.00 a piece ! They can wired in series to increase voltage, and in parallel to increase current. Unlike some dealers that are selling seconds and low tech import cells, these are U.S. made and are of extremely high quality.

Learn how to wire solar panels and battery systems

SOURCE: Solar Cell Super Sale – partsonsale.com
Discussion:
SolarPowerForum.net > Solar Energy Forum > Do-It-Yourself – Discuss Your Projects
Sanyo HIT

  #1 04-13-2011, 05:09 AM
e=mc2
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Sanyo HIT

Looking for the cells to assemble my own panel but can only find complete panels. Do they not sell them as such? Thanks in advance.

  #4 04-13-2011, 11:07 AM
e=mc2
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2

I see, very well then. I appreciate your help.

  #5 04-13-2011, 11:32 AM
TenagaSurya
Forum Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Jakarta
[Lat:06:08South Long:106:45East]
Indonesia
Posts: 34

Is it true or false?

But wait, not so fast. Let’s ask SunKing for advice is it true or false.
__________________
MarineLiner
Join Date: 10-23-2009 ~ “Lucky” Date: 11-21-2010

  #6 04-13-2011, 07:56 PM

Sunking
Solar Nut
Solar Super Nova
MODERATOR
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Somewhere in TX
Posts: 4,876

Quote:
Originally Posted by TenagaSurya
But wait, not so fast. Let’s ask SunKing for advice is it true or false.

Is it true the cells exist? Yes
Can the public buy them? I suppose if money is no object.
Will people pay $100/watt?
__________________
Dereck, PE, MSEE
Moderator
Last edited by Sunking; 04-13-2011 at 08:04 PM.

  #7 04-13-2011, 09:01 PM
TenagaSurya
Forum Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Jakarta
[Lat:06:08South Long:106:45East]
Indonesia
Posts: 34

Thanks for responding.
Seems they are on sale now:

Quote:
Limited Quantities
On Sale Now !
Only $14.95 Each

__________________
MarineLiner
Join Date: 10-23-2009 ~ “Lucky” Date: 11-21-2010

  #8 04-13-2011, 10:52 PM

Sunking
Solar Nut
Solar Super Nova
MODERATOR
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Somewhere in TX
Posts: 4,876

Quote:
Originally Posted by TenagaSurya
Thanks for responding.
Seems they are on sale now:

Ok, does not change things much. Each cell is rated:

Vmp = .5 volts
Imp = 1.5 amps
Pmax = .75 watts
Cost = $15/cell
$/w = $20/w

What a sale, 80% off government pricing. You can buy manufactured panels for around $1 to $2/w. I bet they do not sale many at that price.
__________________
Dereck, PE, MSEE
Moderator

  #9 04-14-2011, 12:47 PM
russ123
Solar Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: İzmir, Turkey
Posts: 193

A bit crazy to ask that kind of price!

Maybe he finds a few stupids to go along but I doubt it.

  #10   Today, 08:13 AM

Sunking
Solar Nut
Solar Super Nova
MODERATOR
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Somewhere in TX
Posts: 4,876

Quote:
Originally Posted by russ123
A bit crazy to ask that kind of price!

Maybe he finds a few stupids to go along but I doubt it.

Russ I think these are the cells from Spectra Labs a division of Boeing Aircratft. Spectra Labs does work mostly for the DOD and NASA.
__________________
Dereck, PE, MSEE
Moderator

Tags
sale , solar cell

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kymberly Werntz said, on May 25, 2011 at 10:37 pm

    I like your site. Your texts are interesting. I got here by mistake as well as I started reading. I became interested in the subject and I am thinking it I could use your texts on my paper, of course with the quotation. Please contact with me, thank you.

    [Admin: Thanks]

  2. HomemadeSolarPower said, on June 1, 2011 at 3:23 pm

    homemadesolarpower…

    Cool stuff! I really enjoyed reading this with your permission would like to postsome of it on my blog (with a linkback of course)….

    Admin: URL didn’t work. HomemadeSolarPower.com or HomemadeSolarHeating.com or ?
    For the meantime HomemadeSolarPower.com

  3. HomemadeSolarHeating said, on June 2, 2011 at 1:21 am

    homemadesolarpanel…

    Attractive element of content. I simply stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to assert that I get actually loved account your blog posts. In whatever way I will be subscribing in the augment or even I achievement you get entry to consis…

    [Admin: Thanks]

  4. HomemadeSolarPower said, on June 6, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    homemadesolarpanels…
    I haven’t investigated your website since summer and I am amazedthatI can see a lot of something totally new. The articles are great and the graphics and pictures just wonderful! I can not take my eyes from your blog Feel free to look at my site!…


    Admin: Thanks.

  5. Dewey Mella said, on June 6, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    A thoughtful knowledge and ideas I will use on my blog. You have obviously spent some time on this. Congratulations!


    Admin: Thanks.

  6. HomemadeSolarPower said, on June 7, 2011 at 12:27 am

    homemadesolarheating…
    I run my own , personal blog and I came here by mistake. I read your entries and I found that they are great! I wish to use them on my blog. I want do that without your permission, so say OK. I am greeting warmly….


    Admin: OK and thanks.

  7. HomemadeSolarPower said, on June 7, 2011 at 2:58 am

    homemadesolarpanels…
    Hi and thanks very significantly for the challenging operate to give this sort of very good facts. I will forward your web page to my pals to discover from this beneficial article….


    Admin: Thanks.

  8. Wesley Claybourn said, on December 31, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    It does not take small tweaks that creates some of the most dramatic shift.


    Just another WordPress.com site

  9. Vinita Voge said, on January 1, 2012 at 8:09 am

    I have bookmarked, Dugg, and I joined the RSS subscription. Thanks! .


    Another: Just another WordPress.com site


Leave a Reply

